Accreditation and Affiliations

Higher Learning Commission

Higher Learning Commission Mark of AffiliationSouth Arkansas Community College is accredited by the North Central Association of College and Schools. The Higher Learning Commission is part of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The Association was founded in 1895 as a membership organization for educational institutions. It is committed to developing and maintaining high standards of excellence. The Association is one of six regional institutional accrediting associations in the United States. Through its Commissions it accredits, and thereby grants membership to educational institutions in the nineteen-state North Central region: Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming.


Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA)

Accredited by a CHEA-Recognized Accrediting OrganizationSouth Arkansas Community College is an member of CHEA, a national advocate and institutional voice for self-regulation of academic quality through accreditation. It is an association of 3,000 degree-granting colleges and universities and recognizes 60 institutional and programmatic accrediting organizations.

The institution is approved by the Arkansas Department of Higher Education and the Veterans Approval Agency of the Arkansas Department of Education. The college also holds institutional membership in the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC), Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT), and the Arkansas Association of Two-Year Colleges (AATYC). 

Programmatic Accreditation

  • The AAS in Nursing programs is approved by the Arkansas State Board of Nursing. 

  • The Arkansas Department of Human Services, Division of Medical Services, Office of Long Term Care approves the Certified Nursing Assistant program

  • The Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE) of the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) accredits the Occupational Therapy Assistant program

  • The Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) accredits the Physical Therapist Assistant program.  CAPTE, 1111 North Fairfax St., Alexandria, VA 22314, 703-706-3245, email: accreditation (at) apta.org, website:  http://www.capteonline.org.  Original accreditation was granted in May 2000, and re-accreditation was granted in April 2006, effective until June 2016.

  • The Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) accredits the Radiologic Technology program.

    • 20 N. Wacker Dr., Suite 2850 Chicago, IL 60606-3182
    • Phone: (312) 704-5300  Fax: (312) 704-5304  E-mail: mail@jrcert.org  Website: www.jrcert.org


  • The Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the EMS Professions (CoAEMSP) through the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Pograms (CAAHEP) accredits the Emergency Medical Technician programs.  

    • The Emergency Medical Technology Program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (www.caahep.org) upon the recommendation of Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the Emergency Medical Services Professions (CoAEMSP). The program has been placed on Probationary Accreditation as of January 16, 2014.
  • The Accreditation Review Committee on Education in Surgical Technology (ARC-ST) through the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) accredits the Surgical Technology program. 

  • The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence accredits the Automotive Service Technology program.

Admin  |  Login