Larkin receives Baumgardner Award

Baumgardner-LarkinScott Larkin, right, an English instructor at South Arkansas Community College, is the 2010 recipient of the G. Thomas Baumgardner Students’ Choice Faculty Award. Baumgardner also is pictured. Student votes determine the award winner each year; he or she receives $500 for faculty development. In addition to teaching, Larkin edits the college’s literary magazine Between the Lines and sponsors SouthArk’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

Steve Blair

Steve Blair, a 2010 graduate of Smackover High School, has accepted the Trades and Industry Scholarship to attend South Arkansas Community College in the fall.

Blair is the son of Steve Blair and Stephanie Brown-Massie, both of Smackover. At Smackover High he was a member of the Future Business Leaders of America, the French Club, the baseball team and the football team.

PHOTO: Student Steve Blair.


March 18, 2010 - Dr. Kermit Parks, left, presents the Dr. Kermit M. Parks Public Service Endowed Scholarship to South Arkansas Community College criminal justice major Amanda Andrews of El Dorado recently. The new scholarship is bestowed to a SouthArk student who is planning a career in public service and is involved in political or community activities. An applicant also must submit an essay. Parks taught political science at SouthArk for 28 years.

Ken’s Discount in El Dorado recently donated these two picnic tables to the South Arkansas Community College Foundation for use at the college. From left are SouthArk’s Alene Drummond, Ken Discount’s Ken Blackmon and SouthArk’s Tom Posey.