SouthArk News

04-09-2010 Winners announced in Writers’ Ink contest

Forty-seven Union County high school students have been selected for publication in the 13th annual volume of Writers’ Ink, a literary magazine published by South Arkansas Community College and edited by the SouthArk English faculty.

During the 2009-‘10 academic year, high school students were invited through their English teachers to submit original poems, essays and-or short stories as entries in a creative writing contest with the best submissions to be published in Writers’ Ink. Cash prizes were offered as an additional incentive to enter the contest—$100 for first place, $75 for second and $50 for third in three literary genres and two age divisions, ninth and 10th grades and 11th and 12th grades.  

The prizes in this year’s contest will be awarded and the magazines distributed at a ceremony on at 2 p.m. on April 25 in the SouthArk Library Auditorium on the college’s West Campus. The awards ceremony will be followed by a reception in the library gallery in honor of the student authors and their English teachers. The public is invited to attend.

In the junior division poetry contest, Haley Corley, a ninth-grade student of Aprile Richardson at Smackover High School, won first prize with “Seven.” Second prize went to Kaitlyn Cardin, a 10th-grade student of Carol Rankin at Parkers Chapel High School, for “Poetry Doubts.” Lexi Benedetti, a ninth-grade student of Stacy Kendrick at Parkers Chapel, won third prize with her poem “I Am...”
Winning honorable mention for junior division poetry were Ashley Wilson, Josh Harpole and Nicole Martin ninth-grade students at Smackover; Haley Brotherton, Molly Jones and Leah Spaun, 10th-grade students at Parkers Chapel; Wesley Houldridge, a ninth-grade student at Junction City; Darby Gathright, Ashley Haning and Allyson Meeks, ninth-grade students at Parkers Chapel; and Michael Welch, a 10th-grade student at Strong-Huttig.

In the junior division short fiction contest, Leah Spaun, a 10th-grade student of Rankin at Parkers Chapel, won first prize for “Broken Dreams.” Second prize went to “A Real Queen” by Jessica Jones, a ninth grader at Parkers Chapel and a student of Kendrick; and third prize went to “Family Heirlooms” by Mallory Smiley, a 10th grader at Parkers Chapel and a student of Rankin.
Honorable mention went to Sawyer Williams, a 10th grader at Parkers Chapel; Karen Williams, a 10th grader at Strong-Huttig; and Katelyn Phillips, a 10th grader at Smackover.

In the junior division essay contest, Philip Hay, a ninth grader at Parkers Chapel and a student of Kendrick, won first prize for “Sword Fighting: A Tale of Two Swords.” Second prize went to “Hilarious Moments” by Audrey Kemp, a ninth grader at Smackover and a student of Richardson. Third prize went to “Find a New Dream” by Benedetti, a ninth grader at Parkers Chapel and a student of Kendrick.
Honorable mention went to Parkers Chapel ninth-grade writers Jessica Jones and Meeks and to Junction City High 10th grader Hunter Hightower.

In the senior division poetry contest, honorable mention went to Daniel Polk, Connor Phillips, Sarah Weldon and Katy Callaway, all seniors at El Dorado High School; Rodney Hill, a junior at El Dorado; Kalan Hammett and Kayela Holland, juniors at Junction City; Kyra Jerry, a senior at Junction City; and McKinley Hudson, Timothy Heath Sims and Taylor McClelland, all seniors at Parkers Chapel.

In the senior division short story contest, Kelsie Hodge won first prize for “Normal.” She is a junior at Junction City and a student of Mindy Sparks. Taylor Stinson, a senior at Parkers Chapel and a student of Becki Schultz, won second prize for “With All My Heart,” and Tillie Watkins, a junior at Strong-Huttig and a student of Deborah Hammons, won third prize for “John Doe.”  Honorable mention went to Mallory Slaughter, Alex Wynn and Summer Day, seniors at Parkers Chapel; and to Alba Martinez, a senior at Smackover.

In the senior essay contest, Kristen Crawley, a junior at El Dorado and a student of Anwar Fairley, won first prize for “Glen.” McKinley Hudson won second prize for “A Love Not Reciprocated.” McKinley is a senior at Parkers Chapel and a student of Schultz. Jacob Pumphrey won third prize for “More than Just a Game.” He is a senior at Junction City and a student of Beth Endel.

Honorable mention went to Hollis Anthony and Katie Eckart, both juniors at El Dorado; Allison McKinnon and Ashley Jackson, both juniors at Parkers Chapel; Kayela Holland, a junior at Junction City; and Roger McKinzie, a senior at Junction City.

Student authors published in Writers’ Ink will receive free copies. Additional copies will be available to the general public and will go on sale in late April for $5 each at the South Arkansas Community College Bookstore on the West Campus at 300 South West Avenue.

Admin  |  Login