SouthArk Trustees Announce President Search Committee

Steve Cousins, South Arkansas Community College Board Chair, has announced formation of the SouthArk Presidential Search Committee. 

The fifteen-person committee is made up of college and community representatives.  The committee will review all applications for the SouthArk presidency, recently vacated by Alan Rasco, who accepted a position with Texarkana Community College effective March 30. 

Within four to six weeks, the search committee is scheduled to submit semi-finalists to the SouthArk Board of Trustees, who will narrow the field to finalists.

Finalists will visit SouthArk and the community and be interviewed in person. Interim President Dr. Terry Puckett, who will facilitate the search process, noted that “While the Board hopes to choose and announce a new president by mid-summer, the most important thing is to find a good fit.  Hiring a new president is the most important thing a college Board of Trustees will ever do.”

Acknowledging the hard work and extensive time commitment required, Cousins said “The Board of Trustees is very pleased and grateful that such high caliber and very busy people have agreed to serve the college on and perform the important work of the Presidential Search Committee.”

SouthArk Presidential Search Committee
Approved by the SouthArk Board of Trustees 3.31.09

SouthArk Board of Trustee Representatives (4)
 Trustee Chair Steve Cousins
 Trustee Steve Cameron*
 Trustee David Ross
 Trustee Charlie Thomas*

 Trustees appointed by the Chair

SouthArk Representatives (5)
 Administrative Staff  Vernie Meador  
 Professional Staff Becky Riggs    
 Classified Staff Susan Jordan   
 Faculty-Academic Dr. Carolyn Langston*
 Faculty-Technical Mark Nelson

 NOTE:  Staff were recommended by Interim President Puckett who is facilitating
 the President Search. Faculty representatives were elected by their peers; one
 faculty representing academic courses and one representing technical courses.

Community Representatives (5)

 Wayne Gibson* – Murphy Oil Corp.
 Joe Hurst – City of  El Dorado
 Chuck Long – Medical Center of South Arkansas
 Deborah Nolan* – Niehuss Land Co.
 Mark Smith – Mark Smith Communications 

Nominated by the Board of Trustees PSC Process Committee:  John Dews, Sherrel Johnson & David Ross

Ex-Officio Representative (1)
 Interim President (non-voting) Dr. Terry Puckett

*SouthArk Foundation Board

Sign in to your account