Academic Affairs Council

ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COUNCIL

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Dr. Jim Bullock

Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs/Provost- Administrative Liaison

jbullock@southark.edu

Roslyn Nipper

Faculty Member/Health Sciences - Academic Standards Committee Chair

rnipper@southark.edu

Robert Norman

Director of Distance Learning

rnorman@southark.edu

Linda Bates

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts - Faculty Affairs Committee Chair

lbates@southark.edu

Jennifer Baine

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts - Distance Learning Committee Chair

jbaine@southark.edu

Dr. Sterling Claypoole

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts - Curriculum Committee chair

sclaypoole@southark.edu

Dr. Rhonda Lee-Ernest

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts - Library Committee chair

rlee-ernest@southark.edu

Caroline Hammond

Dean, Health & Natural Sciences

chammond@southark.edu

Dr. James Yates

Associate Vice President for Arts, Sciences, and Academic Support 

Dean, Liberal Arts

jyates@southark.edu

Ray Winiecki

Dean, Career & Technical Education

rwiniecki@southark.edu

Jim Roomsburg

Division Chair, Business & Information Technology

jroomsburg@southark.edu

Sherry Howard

Dean, Workforce Development & Continuing Education

showard@southark.edu

Amy Sturdivant

Adult Education Director

asturdivant@southark.edu

Philip Shackelford

Library Director

pshackelford@southark.edu

Cindy Meyer

Program Director/Health Sciences/OTA

cmeyer@southark.edu

Leslie Appling

Program Director/Health Sciences/Rad. Tech.

lappling@southark.edu

Dr. David Carty

Program Director/Career & Technical Education/PTEC

dcarty@southark.edu

Keitha Davidson

Director/Health Sciences/Nursing

kdavidson@southark.edu

Susan Heyde

Program Director/Health Sciences/MLS/Phlebotomy

 sheyde@southark.edu

Ken Kelley

Program Director/Health & Natural Sciences/EMT

kkelley@southark.edu

Vacant 

Faculty Member/Health Sciences/Nursing Assistant

 

Sarah Dilmore

Program Director/Health Sciences/Respiratory Therapy

sdilmore@southark.edu

Dr. Jennifer Parks

Program Director/Health Sciences/PTA

jparks@southark.edu

Teresa Hampton

PTK Representative - Student representative

Terham8853@southark.edu

Brandy Mendoza

Program Director/Health Sciences/Surg Tech

bmendoza@southark.edu

Michael Champion

Program Director/Liberal Arts/Criminal Justice

mchampion@southark.edu

Susan Spicher

Program Director/Liberal Arts/Education - Council Chair

sspicher@southark.edu

Susan Heyde Program Director/Health Sciences/Health Information Technology (HIT)

sheyde@southark.edu

Christy Wilson Faculty Member/ Liberal Arts - Assessment Committee Chair

cwilson@southark.edu

Shannon Forrest Program Director/Career and Technical Education/Welding

sforrest@southark.edu

FUNCTIONS: 

  • *Assign issues needing to be addressed to the appropriate committee under the council.
  • *Review, develop, and implement colleg-wide policies and procedures.
  • *Hear committee recommendations, ask questions and either return work to committee for additional fine-tuning or move it on to the Planning Council.
  • *The Academic Affairs Council is comprised of eight committees: Academic Standards, Basic Studies, Curriculum, Distance Learning, Faculty Affairs, Faculty Course Assessment, Faculty Professional Development, and Library.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets 1st Friday of every month at 10:45 a.m. in the Admin. Board Room.

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Chair: Faculty member
  • *Administrative Liaison: VP for Academic Affairs 
  • *Committee chairs (8 committees)
  • *Dean of Health Sciences
  • *Dean of Liberal Arts
  • *Dean of Career & Technical Education
  • *Dean of Continuing Education
  • *Administrative Directors (CJ, CNA, Educ., EMT, LPN/RN, HIT, OTA, MLS/Ph./EKG, PTA, Rad. Tech., Resp. Therapy, Surg. Tech., Process Tech)
  • *Student Representative

NOTE: Program Directors may also be committee chairs

MINUTES:

Academics Standards Committee

ACADEMIC STANDARDS COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Karsten Tidwell

Faculty Member/Career & Technical Education

ktidwell@southark.edu

Dean Inman

Dean of Enrollment Services, Permanent

dinman@southark.edu

Roslyn Nipper, Chair

Faculty Member/Health Sciences

rnipper@southark.edu

Dr. Suzanne Wache

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

swache@southark.edu

Brandy Mendoza, Secretary

Faculty Member/Health Sciences

bmendoza@southark.edu

Ashley Dougan, Vice-Chair

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

adougan@southark.edu
Casey Wilson Faculty Member/Career & Technical Education

crwilson@southark.edu

Scott Larkin Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

slarkin@southark.edu

Connie Short Continuing Education Staff Member

cshort@southark.edu

Vicki Badgley Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

vbadgley@southark.edu

Dr. Jim Bullock

Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs Affairs/ Provost, Ex-officio

jbullock@southark.edu 

FUNCTIONS:

  • *Make recommendations on matters relating to the academic policies of the College;
  • *Hear and advise on academic appeals; and
  • *Perform other duties assigned by the Vice President of Academic Affairs or the President.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets as needed, Mondays at 3:00 p.m. in the HSC Conference Room. 

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Career & Technical Education Division (2 representative)
  • *Health & Sciences Division (2 representatives)
  • *Liberal Arts Division (4 representatives)
  • *Dean of Enrollment Services
  • *Vice President of Academic Affairs (ex-officio)

MINUTES:  

Assessment Committee

ASSESSMENT COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Christy Wilson, Chair Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

cwilson@southark.edu

Sarah Bauldree

Faculty Member/Health Sciences

sbauldree@southark.edu

Karsten Tidwell

Faculty Member/ Career & Technical Education

ktidwell@southark.edu

James DuBose

Career & Technical Education

jjdubose@southark.edu

Nancy Whitmore

Faculty Member/ Liberal Arts

nwhitmore@soutark.edu

Roslyn Turner

Faculy Member/Liberal Arts

rturner@southark.edu

Heather Smith

Student Services Member hsmith@southark.edu 

Mandi Haynes

Faculty Member/Health Sciences

mhaynes@southark.edu

Dr. Stephanie Tully-Dartez

Chief Institutional Effectiveness & Advancement Officer - Ex-Officio

stully-dartez@southark.edu

Genevieve White

Facutly Member/Health Sciences - Assessment Coach

gwhite@southark.edu
Vicki Badgley Faculty Member/ Liberal Arts - Assessment Coach

vbadgley@southark.edu

Sherry Howard Dean of Workforce and Continuing Education - Permanent

showard@southark.edu

Robert Norman Director of Distance Learning - Permanent

rnorman@southark.edu

Dr. James Yates

 Dean, Liberal Arts,  - Permanent

jyates@southark.edu

Dean Inman

Dean of Enrollment Services - Ex Officio

dinman@southark.edu

Caroline Hammond

Dean, Health & Natural Sciences - Ex Officio

chammond@southark.edu

Jim Roomsburg

Division Chair, Business & Information Technology - Ex Officio

jroomsburg@southark.edu

Ray Winiecki

Dean, Career & Technical Education - Ex Officio

rwiniecki@southark.edu

FUNCTIONS:

  • Develop and review guidelines for the assessment of student learning.
  • Analyze and document patterns of evidence that demonstrate strengths and weaknesses of the assessment of student learning.
  • Make recommendations to the Academic Affairs Council from the Assessment Report reviews as basis to improve learning.
  • Make recommendations regarding strategic planning and budgeting that impacts student learning.
  • Review the Academic Assessment Manual annually and propose revisions as needed.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets 1st Friday of every month at 9:30 a.m. in the HSC Conference Room. 

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Career & Technical Education Faculty (1 representative)
  • *Liberal Arts Faculty (3 representatives)
  • *Health Sciences Faculty (2 representatives)
  • *Dean of Continuing Education
  • *Director of Distance Learning
  • *Chief Insititutional Effectiveness & Advancement Officer (Permanent)
  • *Dean of Enrollment Services (ex-officio)
  • *Dean of Health Sciences (ex-officio)
  • *Dean of Liberal Arts (ex-officio)

MINUTES:  

Curriculum Committee

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Donna Hendricks

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

dhendricks@southark.edu

Dr. Sterling Claypoole, Chair

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

sclaypoole@southark.edu

Carol Mitchell

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

cmitchell@southark.edu

Sarah Dilmore, Vice Chair

Faculty Member/Health Sciences

sdilmore@southark.edu

Gail Jeffers

Faculty Member/Health Sciences

gjeffers@southark.edu

Dr. Ken Bridges

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

kbridges@southark.edu

Shannon Rogers

Faculty Member/Career & Technical Education

srogers@southark.edu
Ted James Faculty Member/Career & Technical Education

tjames@southark.edu

Tammi Smith Continuing Education Staff Member

tsmith@southark.edu

Dean Inman

Dean of Enrollment Services - Permanent

dinman@southark.edu

Dr. Jim Bullock

Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs/Provost - Ex Officio

jbullock@southark.edu

FUNCTIONS:

  • *Make recommendations on matters relating to curriculum design and curricular changes.
  • *Approve or disapprove curricular changes that affect only the faculty member or department requesting the change.
  • *Recommend curricular changes that would affect the entire faculty to the Academic Affairs Council.
  • *Recommend new program proposals to the Academic Affairs Council.
  • *Review existing programs on a rotating basis.
  • *Perform other duties assigned by the Vice President for Academic Affairs or the President.

SCHEDULE:

  • No set meeting day/time/place. 

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Career & Technical Education Division (2 representative)
  • *Health Sciences Division (2 representatives)
  • *Liberal Arts Division (4 representatives)
  • *Dean of Enrollment Services
  • *Vice President for Academic Affairs (ex-officio)

MINUTES:  

Distance Learning Committee

 DISTANCE LEARNING COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Robert Norman

Director of Distance Learning - Permanent

rnorman@southark.edu

Rebecca Wagner

Corporate & Community Education

rwagner@southark.edu

Jennifer Baine, Chair

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

jbaine@southark.edu

Dr. James Yates

Dean, Liberal Arts - Ex Officio

jyates@southark.edu 

Mir Ali

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

MAil@southark.edu

Caroline Hammond

Dean, Health Sciences - Ex Officio

chammond@southark.edu 

Dr. David Carty

Faculty Member/Career & Technical Education

dcarty@southark.edu 

Benjamin Cagle, Secretary

Distance Learning Specialist - Permanent

bcagle@southark.edu 

Henry Culbreth

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

hculbreth@southark.edu

Jim Roomsburg, Vice-Chair

Division Chair, Bus, & Inf, Tech, - Ex Officio

jroomsburg@southark.edu 

Genevieve White

Faculty Member/Health Sciences

gwhite@southark.edu

Bernadette Hall

Faculty Member/Health Sciences

bghall@southark.edu

Mindy Farley

Library Representative

lmfarley@southark.edu 

Chris Sullivant

Information Technology/Database Administrator

csullivant@southark.edu
Heather Smith

Student Services Member

hsmith@southark.edu

Ray Winiecki

Dean, Career & Technical Education - Ex Officio

rwiniecki@southark.edu 

FUNCTIONS:

  • *Review and approve new Distance Learning Courses
  • *Review and update the Distance Learning Policy and Procedures Manual
  • *Investigate and recommend new academic technology
  • *Recommend training for Distance Learning instruction

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets 1st Friday of every month at 10:30 a.m. in TEC 128. 

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Career & Technical Education Division (1 representative)
  • *Health Sciences Division (2 representatives)
  • *IT Department Representative(s)
  • *Liberal Arts Division (4 representatives)
  • *Library Representative
  • *Student Services Representative
  • *Director of Distance Learning (Permanent)
  • *Distance Education Specialist (Permanent)
  • *Dean of Career & Technical Education (ex-officio)
  • *Dean of Health Sciences (ex-officio)
  • *Dean of Liberal Arts (ex-officio)

MINUTES:  

Faculty Affairs Committee

FACULTY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Micheal Champion

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

mchampion@southark.edu

Linda Bates, Chair

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

lbates@southark.edu

Dr. Jennifer Parks

Faculty Member/Health Sciences

jparks@southark.edu

Susan Spicher

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

sspicher@southark.edu

Ralph Phillips

Continuing Education Staff Member

rphillips@southark.edu

Roslyn Turner, Vice Chair

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

rturner@southark.edu

Peg Cole

Faculty Member/Health Sciences

pcole@southark.edu

Quincie DeLoach Faculty Member/Career & Technical Education

qdeloach@southark.edu

Doyle Manis Faculty Member/Career & Technical Education

dmanis@southark.edu

FUNCTIONS:

  • *The Committee may develop recommendations affecting faculty in the areas of employment, compensation and benefits, professional responsibilities and development, and institutional governance and submit them for consideration to the Academic Affairs Council.
  • *The committee chair may make a report at each general meeting of the faculty/professional staff. This report may include advice on standing committee proposals as well as recommendations developed by the Faculty Affairs Committee.
  • *In order to insure effective communication, the committee chair will meet regularly with the President as a member of the Academic Affairs Council to discuss faculty-related issues.
  • *At the recommendation of the committee and notification and scheduling through the Vice President of Academic Affairs, the committee chair may convene a meeting of the faculty.
  • *Perform other duties assigned by the Vice President for Academic Affairs 

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets 4th Thursday of every month at 4:00 p.m. in WHT 211.

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Career & Technical Education Division (2 representative)
  • *Health Sciences Division (2 representatives)
  • *Liberal Arts Division (4 representatives)
  • *Continuing Education Staff Member (1 - Workforce representative)

MINUTES:  

 

Library Committee

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Dr. Carolyn Langston, Vice Chair

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

clangston@southark.edu

Martha Dunn

Professional Staff

mdunn@southark.edu

Valerie Lewis

Classified staff representative

vlewis@southark.edu

Beverly Land

Faculty Member/Career & Technical Education

bland@southark.edu

Zana Linder

Faculty Member/Health Sciences

zlinder@southark.edu
Dr. Rhonda Lee-Ernest, Chair

Faculty Member/Liberal Arts

RLee-Ernest@southark.edu

Lauri Wilson, Secretary

Library Staff Member

ltwilson@southark.edu

Philip Shackelford

Library Director

pshackelford@southark.edu

FUNCTIONS:

  • *Make recommendations on library philosophy, collection and selection and usage procedures.
  • *Recommend general library rules and regulations.
  • *Recommend policy for service to external groups.
  • *Perform other duties assigned by the faculty, Vice President for Academic Affairs or the President.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets 1st Tuesday of every month at 4:00 p.m. in the Library Conference Room.

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Career & Technical Education Division (1 representative)
  • *Health Sciences Division (1 representative)
  • *Liberal Arts Division (2 representatives)
  • *Classified Staff (1 representative)
  • *Professional Staff (1 representative)
  • *Library Staff Member (Permanent)
  • *Library Director (Permanent)

MINUTES: