Student Affairs Council

 

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Kathy Reaves, Chair

Adm. Director-Career Pathways

kreaves@southark.edu

Veronda Tatum

Committee Chair/Adm. Director-Financial Aid

vtatum@southark.edu

Dr. Susanne Wache

Committee Chair/Faculty

swache@southark.edu

Tim Johnson

Committee Chair/Administrative

trjohnson@southark.edu

Casey Martin

Committee Chair/Adm. Director-TLC

cmartin@southark.edu

Amy Sturdivant

Adm. Director- Adult Education

asturdivant@southark.edu

Barbara Howell

Adm. Director-Upward Bound

bhowell@southark.edu

Vanessa Williams

Adm. Director - Student Success Services vwilliams@southark.edu

Elichia English

Student Representative

elieng9902@southark.edu

Ray Winiecki

Dean of Career & Technical Education rwiniecki@southark.edu

Dean Inman

Dean of Enrollment Services dinman@southark.edu

Dr. Jim Bullock

Vice President/Administration Liaison jbullock@southark.edu

 FUNCTIONS:

  • *Assign issues needing to be addressed to the appropriate committee under the council.
  • *Review, develop, and implement college-wide policies and procedures.
  • *Hear committee recommendations, ask questions and either return work to committee for additional fine-tuning or move it on to the Planning Council.
  • *Make recommendations to Student Affairs Council.
  • *Evaluate committee effectiveness and efficiency.
  • *The Student Affairs Council is comprised of four committees: Pre-College Education; Recruitment, Retention and Student Success; Scholarship, and Student Services.

 SCHEDULE:

  • Meets 2nd Friday of every month at 10:45 a.m. in the Admin. Board Room.

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Chair-elected from committee chairs
  • *Administrative Liaison: VP for Student Services
  • *Committee Chairs (4 committees)
  • *Dean of Enrollment Services
  • *Administrative Directors
  • *Student Representative

MINUTES:

Recruitment Committee

RECRUITMENT COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Dr. John Spencer, Chair

Liberal Arts Representative

jspencer@southark.edu

Tim Johnson

College & Career Coach/Transfer Advisor

trjohnson@southark.edu

Kathy Reaves

Director, Career Pathways

kreaves@southark.edu

Barbara Howell

Director, Upward Bound

bhowell@southark.edu

Shannon Rogers

Business & Technical Education

srogers@southark.edu

Jim Roomsburg

Administrative

jroomsburg@southark.edu

Vacant

Health & Natural Sciences Representative

n/a

Heath Waldrop

Adm. - Coordinator, Marketing and Communications hwaldrop@southark.edu

Susan Spicher

Liberal Arts Representative

sspicher@southark.edu

Kara Lowery

Recruiter

klowery@southark.edu

Amy Hix

TAACCT Grant Representative

ahix@southark.edu

Amy Sturdivant

Director of Adult Education

asturdivant@southark.edu

Ray Winiecki

Dean, Secondary Career Center

rwiniecki@southark.edu

Dean Inman Dean, Enrollment Services dinman@southark.edu

Dr. Jim Bullock

Vice President for Student Services jbullock@southark.edu

FUNCTIONS:

  • *Assess all aspects of college preparation both on campus and in the community.
  • *Develop and manage a plan for recruitment of students in Adult Education, Secondary Technical Center, and other college readiness programs.
  • *Facilitate interdepartmental communication and collaboration among previously stated programs.
  • *Make recommendations to Student Affairs Council.
  • *Act upon issues referred by the Student Affairs Council.

SCHEDULE:

  • TBD

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Academic Advisor
  • *Administrative Representative
  • *College & Career Coach/Transfer Advisor
  • *Director of Career Pathways
  • *Director of Upward Bound
  • *Business & Technical Education Division (1 representative)
  • *Health & Natural Sciences Division (1 representative)
  • *Liberal Arts Division (1 representative)
  • *Recruiter
  • *Director of Adult Education (Permanent)
  • *Dean Secondary Career Center (Permanent)
  • *VP for Student Services (ex-officio)

MINUTES:

Retention and Student Success Committee

RETENTION AND STUDENT SUCCESS COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Casey Martin, Chair

Director of The Learning & Testing Center

cmartin@southark.edu

Judy Ward

Liberal Arts Representative

jward@southark.edu

Vacant

Health & Natural Sciences Representative

n/a

Vacant

Director of Student Advising Coaches

n/a

Vacant

Director of Distance Learning

n/a

Kathy Reaves

Director of Career Pathways

kreaves@southark.edu

Veronda Tatum

Director of Financial Aid

vtatum@southark.edu

Vanessa Williams

Director of Student Success Services

vwilliams@southark.edu

Kara Lowery

Recruiter

klowery@southark.edu

Dean Inman

Dean of Enrollment Services

dinman@southark.edu

Ray Winiecki

Dean of Career & Technical Education 

rwiniecki@southark.edu

Dr. Jim Bullock

Vice President for Student Services

jbullock@southark.edu

FUNCTIONS:

  • *Periodically review and update processes, policies and procedures of SouthArk Recruiting, Retention and Student Success plan from potential new student to graduation.
  • *Develop new recruiting strategies that will attract more and better students to SouthArk.
  • *Examine current retention strategies to determine which efforts are effective and which need improvement.
  • *Develop new policies that will aid in the success of all SouthArk students.
  • *Act upon issues referred by College Leadership Team.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets 3rd Wednesday of every month at 4:00 p.m. in SSC 246. 

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Director of Adult Education
  • *Director of Career Pathways
  • *Director of Financial Aid
  • *Director of Testing and Learning Center
  • *Director of Upward Bound
  • *Director of Student Success Services
  • *Dean  of Secondary Career Center
  • *Liberal Arts Division (1 representative)
  • *Health & Natural Sciences Division (1 representative)
  • *Dean of Enrollment Services (Permanent)
  • *Recruiter (Permanent)
  • *Vice President of Student Services (Permanent)

MINUTES:

Scholarship Committee

SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Veronda Tatum, Chair

Director of Financial Aid

vtatum@southark.edu

Donna Hendricks

Business & Technical Education/CIS

dhendricks@southark.edu

Scott Larkin

Liberal Arts

slarkin@southark.edu

Ashley Dougan

Liberal Arts

adougan@southark.edu

Jeanette Brown

Health & Natural Sciences

jbrown@southark.edu

Heather Smith

Professional/Classified Staff

hsmith@southark.edu

Vacant

Financial Aid Analyst

n/a

FUNCTIONS:

  • *Committee meets to consider financial aid appeals or scholarships to be reviewed.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets as needed.

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Business & Technical Education Division (1 representative)
  • *Health & Natural Sciences Division (2 representatives)
  • *Liberal Arts Division (2 representatives)
  • *Financial Aid Analyst (ex-officio)
  • *Director of Financial Aid (Permanent)

MINUTES:

Student Services Committee

STUDENT SERVICES COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Dr. Susanne Wache, Chair

Health & Natural Sciences

swache@southark.edu

Dr. David Carty

Business & Technical Education

dcarty@southark.edu

Vacant

Student Representative

n/a

Susan Spicher

Liberal Arts

spicher@southark.edu

Scott Larkin

Liberal Arts

slarkin@southark.edu

Sandi Hildebrand

Classified

shildebrand@southark.edu

Vanessa Williams

Director of Student Success Services

vwilliams@southark.edu

Blake Nolan

Health & Natural Sciences

bnolan@southark.edu

Dr. Jim Bullock

Vice President of Student Services

jbullock@southark.edu

FUNCTIONS:

  • *Make recommendations on matters pertaining to student affairs.
  • *Make recommendations on new clubs and other student organizations.
  • *Hear appeals relating to student disciplinary matters.
  • *Make recommendations to the President for nominations to Who’s Who Among Students of American Universities and Colleges.
  • *Plan and implement annual Recognition Ceremony.
  • *Perform other duties assigned by the faculty, Vice Presidents, or the President.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets 3rd Friday of every month at 9:00 a.m. in HSC 310.

MEMBERSHIP:

  • *Careery & Technical Edcuation Division (1 representative)
  • *Health & Natural Sciences Division (2 representatives)
  • *Liberal Arts Division (2 representatives)
  • *Classified staff representative
  • *Student representative
  • *Administrative staff representative
  • *Vice President for Student Services (ex-officio)

MINUTES: