Student Affairs Council

 

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Vanessa Williams

Committee Chair SS / Adm Director - Student Success Services

VWilliams@southark.edu

Robert Norman

Committee Chair RSS / Adm Director - Distance Learning

RNorman@southark.edu

Barbara Howell

Committee Chair Recruitment / Adm Director - Upward Bound

BHowell@southark.edu

Veronda Tatum

Committee Chair Scholarship / Adm Director - Financial Aid VTatum@southark.edu

Dean Inman

Adm Director / Dean of Enrollment Services

DInman@southark.edu

Casey Martin

Adm Director / Testing and Learning Center CMartin@southark.edu

Kathy Reaves

Adm Director / Career Pathways KReaves@southark.edu

Richard Dunlap

Student Representative / SGA President RICDUN0545@southark.edu

Dr. Derek Moore

Vice President for Student Services / Adm Liaison

DMoore@southark.edu

FUNCTION and PURPOSE:

  • Assigns issues needing to be addressed to the appropriate committee under the council.
  • Reviews, develops, and implements college-wide policies and procedures.
  • Hears committee recommendations, asks questions, and either returns work to committee for additional fine-tuning or moves it on to the Planning Council.
  • Makes recommendations to Student Affairs Council.
  • Evaluates committees' effectiveness and efficiency.
  • The Student Affairs Council is comprised of four committees: Recruitment; Retention and Student Success; Scholarship; and Student Services.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets 2nd Friday of every month at 10:45 a.m. in the Admin. Board Room.

MEMBERSHIP:

  • Committee Chairs (4 committees, Ex Officio)
  • Administrative Directors (Ex Officio)
  • Student Representative (SGA President, Ex Officio)
  • Vice President for Student Services (Administrative Liaison / Advisory)

MINUTES:

Recruitment Committee

RECRUITMENT COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Dr. Dave Carty

Career and Technical Education - Faculty Member

DCarty@southark.edu

Sarah Bauldree

Health Sciences - Faculty Member

SBauldree@southark.edu

Mir Ali

Liberal Arts - Faculty Member

MAli@southark.edu

Barbara Howell

Administrative Staff - Student Services

BHowell@southark.edu

Donald Lee

Administrative Staff - Workforce/Continuing Education

DLee@southark.edu

Dean Inman

Administrative Staff - Dean of Enrollment Services

DInman@southark.edu

Heath Waldrop

Director of Marketing and Communications

HWaldrop@southark.edu

Micah Sanford

Recruiter

MSanford@southark.edu

Dr. Derek Moore

Vice President for Student Services

DMoore@southark.edu

FUNCTION and PURPOSE:

  • Monitors and reports on the Recruitment Plan section of SouthArk's Enrollment Management Plan and provides suggestions when appropriate.
  • Facilitates interdepartmental communication and collaboration for accurate monitoring and reporting.
  • Makes recommendations to the Student Affairs Council.
  • Acts upon issues referred by the Student Affairs Council.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets the 3rd Thursday of every month at 4:00 p.m. in TEC 229.

MEMBERSHIP:

  • Career and Technical Education Division (1 representative)
  • Health Sciences Division (1 representative)
  • Liberal Arts Division (1 representative)
  • Administrative Staff (2 representatives, Student Services and Workforce/Continuing Education)
  • Administrative Staff - Dean of Enrollment Services (Ex Officio)
  • Director of Marketing and Communication (Ex Officio)
  • Recruiter (Ex Officio)
  • Vice President for Student Services (Advisory)

MINUTES:

Retention and Student Success Committee

RETENTION AND STUDENT SUCCESS COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Shannon Forrest

Career and Technical Education - Faculty Member

SForrest@southark.edu

Leslie Appling

Health Sciences - Faculty Member

LAppling@southark.edu

Keith Everett

Liberal Arts - Faculty Member

KEverett@southark.edu

VACANT

Administrative Staff Member

 

VACANT

Accommodative Learning Specialist

 

Dean Inman

Dean of Enrollment Services

DInman@southark.edu

Kathy Reaves

Director of Career Pathways

KReaves@southark.edu

Robert Norman

Director of Distance Learning

RNorman@southark.edu

Veronda Tatum

Director of Financial Aid

VTatum@southark.edu

Heather Smith

Director of Student Advising Coaches

HSmith@southark.edu

Vanessa Williams

Director of Student Success Services

VWilliams@southark.edu

Casey Martin

Director of the Testing and Learning Center

CMartin@southark.edu

Dr. Derek Moore

Vice President for Student Services

DMoore@southark.edu

FUNCTION and PURPOSE:

  • Annually reviews and updates the programs, goals, and strategies of the Retention Plan section of SouthArk's Enrollment Management Plan to determine which efforts are effective and which need improvement.
  • Develops new policies that will aid in the success of all SouthArk students.
  • Makes recommendations to the Student Affairs Council.
  • Acts upon issues referred by the Student Affairs Council.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets the 2nd Wednesday of every month at 4:00 p.m. in ECC 246. 

MEMBERSHIP:

  • Career and Technical Education Division (1 representative)
  • Health Sciences (1 representative)
  • Liberal Arts (1 representative)
  • Administrative Staff Member
  • Accommodative Learning Specialist (Ex Officio)
  • Dean of Enrollment Services (Ex Officio)
  • Director of Career Pathways (Ex Officio)
  • Director of Distance Learning (Ex Officio)
  • Director of Financial Aid (Ex Officio)
  • Director of Student Advising Coaches (Ex Officio)
  • Director of Student Success Services (Ex Officio)
  • Director of the Testing and Learning Center (Ex Officio)
  • Vice President for Student Services (Advisory)

MINUTES:

Scholarship Committee

SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

James Dubose

Career and Technical Education - Faculty Member

JDubose@southark.edu

Jeanette Brown

Health Sciences - Faculty Member

JBrown@southark.edu

Donna Hendricks

Liberal Arts - Faculty Member

DHendricks@southark.edu

Adrienne Lawrence

Administrative Staff Member - Classified

ALawrence@southark.edu

Heather Smith

Administrative Staff Member - Professional

HSmith@southark.edu

Veronda Tatum

Director of Financial Aid

VTatum@southark.edu

Dakota Dawson

Financial Aid Analyst

DDawson@southark.edu

Nikishia Faulkner

Financial Aid Specialist

NFaulkner@southark.edu

FUNCTION and PURPOSE:

  • Committee meets to consider financial aid appeals or scholarships to be reviewed.
  • Recommends changes to institutional scholarships as necessary.
  • Acts upon issues referred by the Student Affairs Council.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets as needed.

MEMBERSHIP:

  • Career and Technical Education Division (1 representative)
  • Health Sciences Division (1 representative)
  • Liberal Arts Division (1 representative)
  • Administrative Staff (2 representatives, Classified and Professional)
  • Financial Aid Analyst (Advisory)
  • Financial Aid Specialist (Advisory)
  • Director of Financial Aid (Advisory)

MINUTES:

Student Services Committee

STUDENT SERVICES COMMITTEE

NAME

TITLE/DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Ted James

Career and Technical Education - Faculty Member

TJames@southark.edu

Beverly Land

Career and Technical Education - Faculty Member

BLand@southark.edu

Juanita Norful

Health Sciences - Faculty Member

JNorful@southark.edu

VACANT

Health Sciences - Faculty Member

 

Henry Culbreth

Liberal Arts - Faculty Member

HCulbreth@southark.edu

Susan Spicher

Liberal Arts - Faculty Member

SSpicher@southark.edu

LaBreshia Hicks

Administrative Staff Member - Classified

LHicks@southark.edu

Vanessa Williams

Administrative Staff Member - Professional

VWilliams@southark.edu

Jolie Warren

Student Representative - Student Ambassador

JOLWAR7647@southark.edu

Dr. Derek Moore

Vice President for Student Services

DMoore@southark.edu

FUNCTION and PURPOSE:

  • Makes recommendations on matters pertaining to student affairs.
  • Makes recommendations on new clubs and other student organizations.
  • Hears appeals relating to student disciplinary matters.
  • Makes recommendations to the President for nominations to Who’s Who Among Students of American Universities and Colleges.
  • Plans and implements the annual Recognition Ceremony.
  • Makes recommendations to Student Affairs Council.
  • Acts upon issues referred by the Student Affairs Council.

SCHEDULE:

  • Meets the 2nd Tuesday of every month at 4:15 p.m. in WHT 231.

MEMBERSHIP:

  • Career and Technical Edcuation Division (2 representatives)
  • Health Sciences Division (2 representatives)
  • Liberal Arts Division (2 representatives)
  • Administrative Staff (2 representatives, Classified and Professional)
  • Student Representative (Student Ambassador)
  • Vice President for Student Services (Advisory)

MINUTES: