# **Academic Affairs Council**

# MEETING MINUTES

Date: Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Time: 2:40 p.m.

Place: Murphy Hall, Conference Center

#### I. Call to Order

Dr. Jim Bullock called to order the first meeting of the Academic Affairs Council, for the 2017-2018 school year, at 2:40 p.m. on Wednesday, August 16, 2017 in the Murphy Hall room of the Conference Center.

#### II. Roll Call

The following council members were present: Leslie Appling, Jennifer Baine, Linda Bates, Dr. Jim Bullock, Micheal Champion, Dr. Dave Carty, Dr. Sterling Claypoole, Keitha Davidson, Sarah Dilmore, Caroline Hammond, Rhonda Lee-Ernest, Shannon Forrest, Ken Kelley, Brandy Mendoza, Cindy Meyer, Roslyn Nipper, Robert Norman, Dr. Jennifer Parks, Jim Roomsburg, Philip Shackelford, Susan Spicher, Christy Wilson, and Dr. James Yates.

The following council members were excused: Sherry Howard, Amy Sturdivant

**The following guests attended the meeting:** Dr. Stephanie Tully-Dartez, Scott Larkin, Ken Bridges, Dr. Susanne Wache, and Mary Kate Sumner-Recorder

#### **III. Old Business**

- a. Announcements of the new Chairs for each Academic Standing Committee
  - i. Faculty Affairs Linda Bates
  - ii. Assessment Christy Wilson
  - iii. Library Dr. Rhonda Lee-Ernest
  - iv. Curriculum Dr. Sterling Claypoole
  - v. Academic Standards Roslyn Nipper
  - vi. Distance Learning Jennifer Baine
- b. Nominations for Academic Affairs Council Chair
  - i. Dr. Bullock called for Nominations for Academic Affairs Council Chair

Vote: Susan Spicher was nominated for Chair by Micheal Champion and Dr. Dave Carty seconded it. Dr. Sterling Claypoole was nominated for Chair by Dr. Jennifer Parks and Ken Kelley seconded it. Micheal Champion motioned to close the nominations and Dr. Sterling Claypoole seconded it. Jennifer Baine motioned to have the one person who was not chosen to be Chair, become Vice-Chair. Ken Kelley seconded it. The vote was taken by secret ballet. Susan Spicher was announced as the new Chair of Academic Affairs and Dr. Sterling Claypoole as the new Vice-Chair by Dr. Jim Bullock.

c. Statement was made that the Academic Affairs Administrative Assistant would be the recorder for the meetings. During the time there is not an Administrative Assistant in filling that role, Mary Kate Sumner will be the recorder.

# IV. Standing Committee Reports

a. Faculty Affairs Committee – Linda Bates, Chair

Motioned to accept changes to the Faculty Affairs Committee part of the APM with the following changes:

- 1. Removing "as a member of the Academic Affairs Council" from the following statement "In order to insure effective communication, the committee chair will meet regularly with the President as a member of the Academic Affairs Council to discuss faculty-related issues."
- 2. Removing this specific function: "Meeting announcements and committee agendas must be published and distributed at least one week in advance and minutes must be published in a timely manner. All announcements, agendas and minutes of all meetings must be placed on file in the office of the Vice President of Academic Affairs."
- 3. Adding the specific function: "Perform other duties assigned by the Vice President for Academic Affairs or the President."
- 4. Changes to the Membership:
  - a. Remove one Health Sciences Faculty Member and Change it to Career and Technical Education Faculty Member
  - b. Remove the words "Business and IT" from any membership.
  - c. Add a Continuing Education Staff Member (workforce)

Vote: All Approved

b. **Assessment Committee** – *Christy Wilson, Chair* 

Motioned to accept changes to the Assessment Committee part of the APM with the following changes:

- 1. Changes to the Membership:
  - a. Add a Career and Technical Education Faculty Member
  - b. Remove the words "Business and IT" from any membership.

Vote: Approved

Questions about the proposal "to remove academic deans/directors from the quorum court" arose. Discussion questions and comments between Dr. Sterling Claypoole, Christy Wilson, and Dr. Tully-Dartez occurred

Motion by Philip Shackelford to send summary of where this proposal ("to remove academic deans/directors from the quorum court") is coming from and why it has been suggested out to all of the committees. This was seconded by Ken Kelley.

Vote: Approved

Dr. Bullock commented that a committee could bring this vote as a global proposal, instead of single committee proposals from each committee. Discussion occurred.

Motion by Christy Wilson to send "to remove academic deans/directors from the quorum court" back to committee, Faculty Affairs and/or Nominating Committee. Philip Shackelford seconded it.

Jim Roomsburg made an amendment to also consider the roles of the Deans and Directors' proxies. Dr. Jennifer Parks seconded it.

Vote on Amendment: Approved Vote on Motion: Approved

#### c. **Library Committee** – Dr. Rhonda Lee-Ernest, Chair

i. No report.

### d. Curriculum Committee – Dr. Sterling Claypoole, Chair

Motioned to accept changes to the Curriculum Committee part of the APM with the following changes:

- 1. Adding the specific function: "Perform other duties assigned by the Vice President for Academic Affairs or the President."
- 2. Changes to the Membership:
  - a. Add a Career and Technical Education Faculty Member
  - b. Remove the words "Business and IT" from any membership.
  - c. Add a Continuing Education Staff Member (workforce)
  - d. Adding the words "Non-Voting" and "Non-Quorum" next to the words Ex Officio.

Vote: All approved.

# e. Academic Standards – Roslyn Nipper, Chair

Motioned to accept changes to the Academic Standards Committee part of the APM with the following changes:

- 1. Changing the location of the meetings from "HSC 3<sup>rd</sup> floor Conference Room" to "HSC 1<sup>st</sup> floor Lecture Hall."
- 2. Changes to the Membership:
  - a. Add a Career and Technical Education Faculty Member
  - b. Add 2 Liberal Arts Faculty Members
  - c. Remove the words "Business and IT" from any membership.
  - d. Add a Continuing Education Staff Member (workforce)
  - e. Adding the words "Non-Voting" and "Non-Quorum" next to the words Ex Officio.

Vote: All approved.

# f. **Distance Learning Committee** – Jennifer Baine, Chair

Motioned to accept changes to the Distance Learning Committee part of the APM with the following changes:

- 1. Changes to the Membership:
  - a. Remove the words "Business and IT" from any membership.
  - b. Add a Continuing Education Staff Member (workforce).
  - c. Remove the "Career Counselor" as a member.
  - d. Remove "Division Chair, Business and IT."
  - e. Adding the words "Non-Voting" and "Non-Quorum" next to the words Ex Officio.

Vote: All Approved

#### V. Announcements

a. Next meeting, September 1, Administrative Board Room at 10:45 a.m.

#### VI. Adjourn

a. A motion to adjourn was made by Christy Wilson and seconded by Cindy Meyer. The meeting was adjourned at 3:47 p.m.

Minutes Submitted by: Mary Kate Sumner