# **Academic Standards Committee**

# MEETING MINUTES

Date: October 11, 2021

Time: 4:00pm

Place: Microsoft Teams

#### I. Call to order

a. Mary Kate Sumner called to order, as the facilitator, the regular meeting of the Academic Standards Committee at 4:05pm on October 11, 2021 via Microsoft Teams.

#### II. Roll Call

- a. **The following committee members were present:** Jennifer Baine, Pam Teague, Katheryn Bourne, Dr Ken Bridges, Jim Roomsburg, Nancy Whitmore, and Byron Winn.
- b. **The following committee members were excused:** Alma Turner, Jayna Winiecki, and Stephanie Tully-Dartez
- c. The following guests attended the meeting: Mary Kate Sumner, serving as facilitator.

## III. Approval of minutes from last meeting

a. Byron Winn made a motion to approve the minutes of the committee meeting held on April 30, 2021. Dr. Ken Bridges seconded the motion. The minutes were approved as written.

#### IV. Chair update – Jennifer Baine, Chair

- a. The following items were brought to cabinet as Action items and were approved:
  - 1. APM 3.06 Syllabi
    - 1. Motion: To update APM 3.06 to include 3.06a-Master Syllabi & 3.06b-Course Syllabi guidelines and approve text for a standardized 3.06a procedure for all sections of a course for assessment, accreditation requirements, and course transfer. (Note: The Course Syllabi section guidelines will not be updated at this time).
    - 2. Multiple Measures of Placement (Catalog updated)
    - 3. Academic Appeals Process (Catalog updated)
    - 4. EMAT Course Changes (Catalog updated)
      - a. To approve the proposal to remove Composition I (ENGL 1113) as a pre-requisite to Scriptwriting EMAT 1013 (originally requested as COMM 1013).
      - b. To approve a proposal to create two new Special Topic Courses

         EMAT 2903 and EMAT 2913 (originally requested as COMM 2903 and COMM 2913).
    - 5. APM 3.19 Faculty Manual (APM updated)

#### V. New Business

- a. Actions
  - 1. Elect Officers
    - 1. Vice-Chair

- a. Vote: Nancy Whitmore nominated Dr. Ken Bridges to be Vice Chair. Jim Roomsburg seconded the motion. All approved.
- 2. Secretary
  - a. Vote: Nancy Whitmore nominated Jim Roomsburg to be Secretary. Dr. Ken Bridges seconded. All Approved.
- 3. Parliamentarian Discussion of having a Parliamentarian was had, and it was decided to not vote on a specific person. No vote was taken.
- 2. APM 1.10 Review and Update Functions
  - 1. Functions were reviewed and no changes were made
- 3. APM 1.10 Review and Update Membership
  - 1. Schedule was removed.
  - 2. Membership was reviewed, and the following changes were made.
    - a. "Continuing Education Staff Member" to "Division of Workforce and Continuing Education (1 representative)
    - b. "Dean of Enrollment Services) to "Dean of Enrollment Management (Advisory)"
    - c. VPAA (ex-officio) to (Advisory)
    - d. Vote: Byron Winn motioned to approved the changes made to the membership, and Pam Teague seconded it. All approved.

#### b. Discussions

1. Syllabi Taskforce – Discussion about the taskforce and a recommendation to consider asking Dr. Justin Geurin to be the chair of the taskforce.

#### VI. Announcements

### VII. Adjournment

a. A motion to adjourn was made by Jim Roomsburg, and seconded by Nancy Whitmore. The meeting was adjourned at 4:34.

Minutes submitted by: Mary Kate Sumner