## Academic Standards Committee

## **Meeting Minutes**

## March 16, 2022

Members Present: Jennifer Baine, Jim Roomsburg, Katheryn Bourne, Pamela Teague, Jayna Winiecki, Alma Turner, Byron Winn, Nancy Whitmore, Juanita Norful, and Ken Bridges

Absent: None

Excused: None

Guest: Cindy Meyer, Mary Kate Sumner and Stephanie Tully-Dartez

Chairperson Jennifer Baine called the MS Teams meeting to order with a quorum present at 4:05 p.m. She presented the previous meeting minutes. Byron Winn moved for approval and Pam Teague seconded. The minutes were unanimously approved in chat.

Jennifer reminded the committee that they had approved Cindy Meyer to chair an ad hoc sub-committee on course syllabi content in a unanimous online vote. Jennifer proceeded to explain and present the work of the sub-committee, with an emphasis on changes from the prior format. It was noted that this format only applied to "for credit" courses and would not affect non-credit offers including ACAP course. Byron Winn moved for the approval of the document and the resulting changes to the APM. Jim Roomsburg seconded and the motion passed with no dissenting votes.

Chair Jennifer Baine expressed concern that the instructions associated with the syllabus might be confusing to new instructors, even though veteran instructors would understand them. It was suggested that some not involved in writing the instructions should review them and suggest edits to make them more understandable. Nancy Whitmore volunteered to lead the effort and Jim Roomsburg volunteered to assist her.

Jennifer Baine volunteered to discuss differences that had been noticed in the Student Handbook and the Catalog with Student Services so that they could make corrections.

Nancy Whitmore moved to adjourn and Jayna seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 4:51 p.m.