Distance Learning Committee

MEETING MINUTES September 20th, 2019

I. Call to order

Genevieve White called to order the regular meeting of the Distance Learning Committee at 9:02 a.m. on Friday, September, 20th, 2019 in HSC 136.

II. Roll Call

The following committee members were present: Benjamin Cagle, Dr. Justin Geurin, David Griffith, O'Brian Holden, Lauren Johnson, Dr. Carolyn Langston, Vernita Morgan (via Zoom), Genevieve White, Christy Wilson and Ray Winiecki, and Dr. James Yates

The following committee members were excused: Mindy Farley, Caroline Hammond, Dr. Rhonda Lee-Ernest, and Amanda Rhodes

Guests present: Jennifer Baine, Micheal Champion, Gary Hall, Zanna Linder, and Dr. Michael Murders

Other: Philip Shackelford (proxy for member Mindy Farley)

III. Approval of minutes from the last meeting:

David Griffith moved to approve the minutes of the Distance Learning committee meeting held on August 14th, 2019. The motion was seconded. The minutes were approved.

IV. Distance Learning Department Report:

Benjamin Cagle reported from Distance Learning Department about Blackboard being down for 45 minutes on September 13th. He also reported that we are expecting a visit from a representative from Blackboard to discuss ADA accessibility of online course offerings.

IV. Old Business:

Benjamin Cagle moved to elect Christy Wilson to be Vice-Chair of the Distance Learning Committee. The motion was seconded. The motion passed.

V. New Business:

A proposal to combine the Library Committee and Distance Learning Committee was presented. There was a motion and second to accept the proposal. After much discussion the motion was amended to accept the proposal for combination of both committees with the addition of the Deans to the membership, the motion was seconded. There was a motion to table the discussion of membership to a later time. The committee requested that the membership discussion be continued electronically with Genevieve sending out the current membership of both committees via email and allow for email discussion of the new committee membership.

VI. Adjourn

Christy Wilson moved to adjourn. The motion was seconded. All approved. The meeting was adjourned 9:59 a.m.

Benjamin Cagle