Nominating Committee

Meeting Minutes

Date: Thursday, August 22, 2019

Time: 12:30 PM

Location: TEC Boardroom

I. Call to Order

Dr. Carolyn Langston called the Nominating Committee meeting to order at 12:30 PM on Thursday, August 22, 2019, in the Computer Technology Building Boardroom.

II. Roll Call

The following committee members were present: Brandi Cotterman, Carol Modica-Moore, Tim Johnson, Dr. Carolyn Langston, Casey Martin, Roslyn Turner, Dr. Derek Moore, Dr. Michael Murders, Dr. Stephanie Tully-Dartez, Mr. Carey Tucker, and Mary Kate Sumner.

III. Approval of minutes: Approved via email on 2/27/19

IV. New Business

- a. Langston opened the floor for nominations for a recorder. Cotterman made a motion that Tim Johnson continue as recorder. Martin seconded the motion. After a vote, the motion passed.
- b. Langston opened the floor to fill vacant committee positions first by hearing request from faculty for specific committee assignments. Next, Langston opened the floor to fill vacant positions based on other criteria. Based on the request and other criteria, the following nominations were made:
 - i. Cotterman nominated Nancy Whitmore to serve on the Curriculum committee as Liberal Arts representative and be removed from the Assessment committee as the Liberal Arts representative.
 - ii. Martin nominated Vernita Morgan to serve on the Distance Learning committee as Liberal Art representative.
 - iii. Turner nominated Sterling Claypoole to serve on the Faculty Affairs committee as Liberal Art representative.
 - iv. Johnson nominated Lillian Ellen to serve on the recruitment committee as Career and Technical Education representative.
 - * Due to committee vacancies based on departmental representation, there were no other nominations from faculty request.
 - v. After discussion, the Liberal Arts vacancy for Academic Standards committee was tabled for further study.
 - vi. Martin nominated Michael Huckabee to serve on Curriculum committee as Career and Technical Education representative.
 - vii. After discussion, the Continuing Education staff member vacancy for Curriculum committee was tabled for further study.

- viii. Cotterman nominated Amanda Rhodes to serve on Distance Learning committee as Career and Technical Education representative.
- ix. After discussion, the Continuing Ed Staff Member vacancy for Distance Learning committee was tabled for further study.
- x. Martin nominated John Spencer to serve as Student Services representative on Distance Learning committee.
- xi. Johnson nominated David Carty to serve on Faculty Affairs as Career and Technical Education representative.
- xii. Cotterman nominated Kelly Goodwin to serve on Retention and Student Success committee as Health Science representative.
- xiii. Cotterman nominated Lisa Antoon to serve on Recruitment committee as Continuing Education Staff Member.
- xiv. Martin nominated Ashley Dougan to serve on Recruitment committee as Liberal Arts representative.
- xv. Cotterman nominated Lillian Ellen to serve on Student Services committee as Career and Technical Education representative.
- xvi. Martin nominated Michael Huckabee to serve on Institutional Technology committee as Career and Technical Education representative.
- xvii. Turner nominated Mark Smith to serve on Institutional Technology committee as Finance and Administration representative.
- xviii. Johnson nominated Rhonda Lee Ernest to serve on Assessment committee as Liberal Arts representative.
- xix. Cotterman nominated Michael Champion to serve on Assessment committee as Liberal Arts representative.

Johnson made a motion to accept as nominations as presented. Martin seconded the motion. After a vote, the motion passed.

c. Tucker initiated discussion regarding individual term limits on committees providing examples of several committees having various members *roll off* in the same year. After discussion, it was determined that if an individual is added to a committee due to faculty/staff turnover, the new member should complete the previous member's term rather than beginning a new term

V. Announcements

VI. Adjourn

There being no future business, the meeting was adjourned at 1:13 PM.