Slide background

About SouthArk

South Arkansas Community College offers over 40 degrees and certifications, with
smaller class sizes and faculty that are dedicated to student learning and your success.


Higher Learning Commission

South Arkansas Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, a regional membership organization for accrediting educational institutions. It is committed to developing and maintaining high standards of excellence so that member institutions meet the expectations of the United States Department of Education (USDE) and qualify for offering federal financial aid as well as courses and degrees that will transfer to other accredited institutions throughout the nation. The Commission is one of six regional institutional accrediting organizations in the United States. It grants membership to educational institutions in the 19-state North Central region: Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA)

CHEA CIQG logo with tmSouth Arkansas Community College is a member of CHEA, a national advocate and institutional voice for self-regulation of academic quality through accreditation. It is an association of 3,000 degree-granting colleges and universities and recognizes 60 institutional and programmatic accrediting organizations.

The institution is approved by the Arkansas Department of Higher Education and the Veterans Approval Agency of the Arkansas Department of Education. The college also holds institutional membership in the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC), Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT), and the Arkansas Community Colleges (ACC). 

Programmatic Accreditation

The AAS in Nursing programs is approved by the Arkansas State Board of Nursing.

The Arkansas Department of Human Services, Division of Medical Services, Office of Long Term Care approves the Certified Nursing Assistant program.

The Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) accredits the Physical Therapist Assistant program. CAPTE, 1111 North Fairfax St., Alexandria, VA 22314, 703-706-3245, email: accreditation (at), website: Initial accreditation was granted in May 2000 and reaccreditation was granted April 2006. Effective May 4, 2016, CAPTE reaffirmed accreditation for SouthArk’s PTA Program. The most recent accreditation status is in effect until June 30, 2026.

The Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) accredits the Radiologic Technology program.

20 N. Wacker Dr., Suite 2850, Chicago, IL 60606-3182
Phone : (312) 704-5300 Fax: (312) 704-5304 E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Website:

The Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the EMS Professions (CoAEMSP) through the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) accredits the Emergency Medical Technician programs.

The Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) accredits the Surgical Technology program through recommendation from the Accreditation Review Committee on Education in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (ARC-STSA).

The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence accredits the Automotive Service Technology program.